top of page

A Balancing Act


This semester, I have jumped into leadership mode, and I could not be more excited about the transition! As the new Vice President of PRSSA and Account Executive for the Joint Journalism Communication History Conference Team with North Road Communications, I have had to learn how to balance time and delegate effectively.

I was a member of PRSSA and an Account Representative for the JJCHC team for one year before I made the decision to take on more responsibility within these organizations. Both have given me opportunities to test myself and my role as an effective leader, as well as gain valuable experience and attend fun events.

The transition to Account Executive for NRC was relatively easy seeing as I had already met with the client several times the previous year. Being familiar with the client, I was able to confer with him on ideas I had to improve engagement with their audience. We worked extensively on their social media and website in preparation for their annual conference.

In order to fulfill our client’s needs goals, I had to delegate to my team of four. I found that asking them when we first met what their interests and specializations were was essential to delegation. By analyzing the strengths of the individuals on the team, I was able to assign tasks in the most effective manner.

The dynamic of the team lead to our high rate of productivity. We received praise from the client. Over the last couple of years, I have discovered that one of the most satisfying things to hear in public relations is gratitude for your team’s hard work and the consequential positive outcomes.

Balancing time between leading the JJCHC team, managing communication between the PRSSA e-board and overseeing their activity, school work, and working at the Marist Poll has taught me how important planning is. I live by my planner, I do not know how people function without writing everything down. I find that making lists and mini goals for myself each day makes me more productive—as does my recently developed caffeine addiction.

Being in charge puts you under pressure to succeed. You are not just responsible for your own success, but for others’ as well. While this is daunting to some, this is motivating to others. I have found that stepping out of your comfort zone and giving yourself that extra push makes you realize abilities you never thought you have, and opens the door to new rewarding experiences.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page