top of page

How North Road has helped me become an Effective Leader


I’m Gabriella, and I’m a junior here at Marist studying communications, with a double-concentration in Journalism and Public Relations. I am currently the account executive for North Road’s client, Meals on Wheels of Greater Hyde Park.

As Account Executive, I hold many responsibilities that are vital to making sure my client’s needs are met. Before taking on this role, I didn’t realize how much responsibility was really coming my way. I didn’t realize that, by holding this position, I would learn so much about leadership.

One of the most important things I do as account executive is manage my team as a whole. My job is to divide the work up as evenly as possible so that each member of the team has his or her own responsibilities. The hope is for each of our jobs to then come together as one whole, cohesive entity.

Before becoming account executive, I would have found it difficult to essentially be doling out orders to people who would eventually become my friends. Holding this position, however, has taught me that you can be an effective leader without simply dictating orders.

I’ve learned that it is important to always make sure that each team member is comfortable with the job they’ve been assigned. Usually when my team is presented with a long list of things to work on, each member chooses which task(s) they are most comfortable taking on from that list and which they feel they will be most effective at completing.

To me, it’s extremely important to be friendly and reasonable with my team. I’m always open to answer any questions from my teammates, and to work together with them to ensure a professional, high quality of work.

Holding this leadership position has taught me a valuable lesson. I now know that I shouldn’t be afraid to take on a role that I may not be so sure about. It’s so important to take any opportunity that comes your way, even if you don’t believe that you’ll be great at it at first. With a little bit of practice and self-confidence, it is possible to become an effective, skilled leader and accomplish things you never thought you could.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page