top of page

Marist Comm: The Perfect Fit

The quest to find the "one" began quickly, and without time to breathe. The "one," in this case, was not a high school sweetheart, nor was it even the perfect Chipotle burrito.

The "one" I searched for was the perfect college -- my home away from home.

The infamous "college process" started my junior year of high school. I met regularly with my guidance counselor, endured SAT tutoring sessions, and travelled from college to college across the Tri-state area.

I grew dejected during the first months of my college tour/road trip series. Tour guides acted as broken records, spewing similar information of what I've heard before. None of the schools I visited offered what I was looking for, academically and socially. Hell, I nearly passed out after trekking the hills of Lehigh University. After a while, I couldn't even muster fake smiles whenever my mother wanted to document the memory. And so, she spared me the misery, and put the camera away.

This all changed, however, when I visited Marist. Granted, it was a beautiful Spring day when I toured, but I was hooked, nonetheless. I was drawn to the small class sizes, providing an intimate, enriching learning experience. I was impressed with the internship opportunities, high job placements post graduation, and unique programs, such as Marist in Manhattan.

Flash forward to today. If you haven't guessed already, I was accepted into the Marist College School of Communication & Arts. I now study Public Relations, Advertising, and hope to minor in English. I seek challenges within my program, especially as an ambitious student working to gain experience in the Communications field. I broke out of my constructed cocoon of comfort and stagnancy, and flew confidently with my new identity shaped by Marist. I don't know what the future holds, but I know for certainty that my work with North Road, and within my courses, fill me with pride-- pride that will remain beyond my four years here. For that reason, I feel that my future is bright.

The moral of my story is, finding a "perfect fit" college is difficult, but well worth the time and energy devoted to the cause. It requires great tenacity, motivation, and courage to abandon your comfort zone. There are many, many factors to consider, and more often that not, you'll doubt the process at one point. But eventually, after much deliberation, you'll know what's right for you based on gut instinct.

I knew Marist was my perfect fit when I was eager to take a post-tour picture (courtesy of my mother). I smiled from cheek to cheek, and still do.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page