top of page

Public Relations Gives You Choices


My name is Kendal Till, and I am a junior at Marist College. I am a double major in Spanish and Communications with a concentration in Public Relations. Originally, I am from Massachusetts, but I now live in Rhode Island. The first time I became involved with North Road Communications was my sophomore year when I heard about it through my involvement with PRSSA here at Marist College.

Beforehand, I really was feeling as though I was not totally grasping the concepts associated with public relations, and hearing about this unique opportunity, I decided to apply. Luckily, I was one of the few chosen to become a part of this incredible student-run PR firm, and more than that, I was put onto a team that worked with BeaconArts. This non-profit organization has been such an incredible client because I find what they do truly interesting. BeaconArts allows me the opportunity to get my dose of a more artistic area, something I have always found interesting and a secret passion of mine.

In high school, which now seems like a life time ago, I took AP art courses, and being involved with BeaconArts focuses on “community building through the support of the arts.” Prior to getting involved with NRC, I had never heard of such a concept nor did I know that a non-profit of this sort was right down the road from my college. Having the opportunity to work with this client has opened up an entirely new world for me. I had never considered this as an area of which I would hold an interest, but seeing how there is various types of non-profits that public relations professionals have the privilege to work with, it really opened my eyes to new opportunities.

North Road Communications not only allowed me to apply my course teachings into a real-world environment, but it also exposed me to areas of the business that I never would have encountered so early on in my college career.

I continue to work with BeaconArts to this day, and I still find the organization to be an amazing client. I really think it is important to find a way to incorporate your passions to your work, and it is most definitely possible in public relations, NRC showed me that.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page